config/vcsh.git
3 years agopopulate-fully.sh: force entering the repository if the lock not valid anymore
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 13 Dec 2018 23:10:02 +0000 (00:10 +0100)]
populate-fully.sh: force entering the repository if the lock not valid anymore

If the vcsh instance which previously acquired the lock does not exist
anymore, the lock is invalid and can be taken by the current instance
for the repository it is entering.

3 years agopopulate-sparsely.sh: explain why the script exits if there is no lock
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 13 Dec 2018 22:54:36 +0000 (23:54 +0100)]
populate-sparsely.sh: explain why the script exits if there is no lock

The reason why the script exits if there is no lock was given in the
commit message when the check was added, but reading the code after some
time I could not remember it, so just put the explanation in a comment
to make the life easier for the reader.

3 years agopopulate-fully.sh: don't do anything if the repository does not exist
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 13 Dec 2018 22:47:47 +0000 (23:47 +0100)]
populate-fully.sh: don't do anything if the repository does not exist

The pre-enter hook is called even when trying to enter an invalid
repository, vcsh only checks the repository validity later on.

Anticipate the check and avoid calling git commands on an invalid
repository as they would just fail and confuse the user.

3 years agoFix the git terminology by always referring to the "working tree"
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 13 Dec 2018 15:52:16 +0000 (16:52 +0100)]
Fix the git terminology by always referring to the "working tree"

The set of files checked out by git is called the "working tree", avoid
other definitions like "working directory" or "work dir".

4 years agopopulate-sparsely.sh: exit gracefully if LOCKDIR does not exist
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 8 May 2018 16:30:55 +0000 (18:30 +0200)]
populate-sparsely.sh: exit gracefully if LOCKDIR does not exist

If LOCKDIR does not exist it means that the lock is not active so
there's no need to do anything.

4 years agohooks-enabled: don't call submodule-update.sh from hooks for now
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 8 May 2018 11:11:22 +0000 (13:11 +0200)]
hooks-enabled: don't call submodule-update.sh from hooks for now

In the current setup executing git submodules commands from 'vcsh run'
invocations would fail because the '.gitmodules' file would not be
checked out.

For now it's only safe to call git submodules commands after entering
the repository with 'vcsh enter'.

4 years agoREADME: mention that the idea came from John Whitley
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 8 May 2018 11:07:51 +0000 (13:07 +0200)]
README: mention that the idea came from John Whitley

4 years agoInitial import
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 8 May 2018 07:48:34 +0000 (09:48 +0200)]
Initial import