libam7xxx.git
9 years agoLink to all ffmpeg libraries, not just to avdevice.
Reto Schneider [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 22:45:48 +0000 (23:45 +0100)]
Link to all ffmpeg libraries, not just to avdevice.

9 years agoMerge branch 'unstable' into rettichschnidi
Reto Schneider [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 19:46:29 +0000 (20:46 +0100)]
Merge branch 'unstable' into rettichschnidi

9 years agoPurely cosmetic change: add missing newline
Reto Schneider [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 19:36:05 +0000 (20:36 +0100)]
Purely cosmetic change: add missing newline

9 years agoUse commas to separate different pico projector names.
Reto Schneider [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 18:47:54 +0000 (19:47 +0100)]
Use commas to separate different pico projector names.

9 years agoexamples: add a am7xxx-play example program
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 14:30:28 +0000 (15:30 +0100)]
examples: add a am7xxx-play example program

am7xxx-play is a simple player based on ffmpeg/libav which displays the
output on a am7xxx device. It can be used to capture the desktop screen,
or video from a v4l2 device, or from any other device supported by
libavdevice including video files.

However it is to note that am7xxx-play displays the output as fast as it
can so it is not reliable when used to display video files directly.

9 years agoam7xxx: cosmetics, remove some useless double spaces
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 13:11:28 +0000 (14:11 +0100)]
am7xxx: cosmetics, remove some useless double spaces

9 years agoam7xxx: add am7xxx_calc_scaled_image_dimensions()
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 13:05:25 +0000 (14:05 +0100)]
am7xxx: add  am7xxx_calc_scaled_image_dimensions()

This function is useful to calculate the dimensions of an image which
will be sent with am7xxx_send_image() in a way that keeps the original
image aspect ratio.

9 years agocontrib: add PicoPix 1020 USB IDs to 55-am7xxx.rules
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 13:35:36 +0000 (14:35 +0100)]
contrib: add PicoPix 1020 USB IDs to 55-am7xxx.rules

9 years agopicoproj: move it to an example/ directory
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 13:22:20 +0000 (14:22 +0100)]
picoproj: move it to an example/ directory

We plan on adding some more useful examples in the future, so it is
better to have them all in their separate directory in order to make the
project structure easier to understand.

9 years agocmake: split out the maintenance targets to a new cmake module
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 22:32:29 +0000 (23:32 +0100)]
cmake: split out the maintenance targets to a new cmake module

This makes the top level CMakeLists.txt easier to follow.

9 years agodoc: add an install target
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 22:12:30 +0000 (23:12 +0100)]
doc: add an install target

For now only Unix-style destinations are supported, we will abstract
them out when the need raises.

9 years agoam7xxx, doc: add Doxygen documentation for the public API
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 16:48:49 +0000 (17:48 +0100)]
am7xxx, doc: add Doxygen documentation for the public API

9 years agoam7xxx: rename the 'size' argument of am7xxx_send_image() to 'image_size'
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 16:28:57 +0000 (17:28 +0100)]
am7xxx: rename the 'size' argument of am7xxx_send_image() to 'image_size'

9 years agocosmetics: remove some unneeded white spaces
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 1 Mar 2012 22:47:00 +0000 (23:47 +0100)]
cosmetics: remove some unneeded white spaces

9 years agoCmakeLists.txt: add some hardening options to CMAKE_C_FLAGS
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 1 Mar 2012 22:05:50 +0000 (23:05 +0100)]
CmakeLists.txt: add some hardening options to CMAKE_C_FLAGS

These options (-fstack-protector --param=ssp-buffer-size=4) should not
affect the current code but it is useful to have them here for
reference.

9 years agoam7xxx: introduce a new am7xxx_device_info type
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 1 Mar 2012 20:52:06 +0000 (21:52 +0100)]
am7xxx: introduce a new am7xxx_device_info type

This is in order to abstract the properties of an am7xxx device, for now
only native_width and native_height are supported.

9 years agoHACKING.asciidoc: mention how to use valgrind
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 29 Feb 2012 22:54:22 +0000 (23:54 +0100)]
HACKING.asciidoc: mention how to use valgrind

9 years agopicoproj: add an option to set the log level
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 29 Feb 2012 22:31:14 +0000 (23:31 +0100)]
picoproj: add an option to set the log level

9 years agoam7xxx: use the logging infrastructure
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 29 Feb 2012 22:29:12 +0000 (23:29 +0100)]
am7xxx: use the logging infrastructure

Also make debug_dump_devinfo_header() and trace_dump_buffer() stubbed
out at compile time when DEBUG is not defined, just to save some cycles
in the data sending routines when in production.

9 years agoam7xxx: add a simple logging infrastructure
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 22:51:37 +0000 (23:51 +0100)]
am7xxx: add a simple logging infrastructure

9 years agoam7xxx: track the context in am7xxx_device
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 21:37:06 +0000 (22:37 +0100)]
am7xxx: track the context in am7xxx_device

This will be used to retrieve the context in functions operating on
devices, in order to use the log calls which are going to be added.

9 years agoam7xxx: pass the context to add_new_device() and find_device()
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 20:57:45 +0000 (21:57 +0100)]
am7xxx: pass the context to add_new_device() and find_device()

This is preparation for when we will track the context in am7xxx_device
as well, and as a side effect those functions now look more consistent
with the other ones.

9 years agoam7xxx: silent a warning enabled by 'sparse' about an uninitialized variable
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 20:44:34 +0000 (21:44 +0100)]
am7xxx: silent a warning enabled by 'sparse' about an uninitialized variable

src/am7xxx.c:423:6: warning: ‘ret’ may be used uninitialized in this function [-Wuninitialized]

If libusb_get_device_list() returned 0 we didn't have 'ret' properly
initialized.

9 years agoTODO: remove the entry about multi-device support
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 29 Feb 2012 22:33:13 +0000 (23:33 +0100)]
TODO: remove the entry about multi-device support

This is done now, even if not tested with actual hardware...

9 years agoam7xxx: add multi-device support
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 17:05:48 +0000 (18:05 +0100)]
am7xxx: add multi-device support

Allow operating on more than one am7xxx device at the same time.

9 years agoTODO: handle signals in picoproj and do the proper cleanup
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 15:23:41 +0000 (16:23 +0100)]
TODO: handle signals in picoproj and do the proper cleanup

9 years agoam7xxx: support other devices which talk the same protocol
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 22 Feb 2012 12:14:24 +0000 (13:14 +0100)]
am7xxx: support other devices which talk the same protocol

Add support for the Philips/Sagemcom PicoPix 1020, which has different
USB IDs.

9 years agocmake: fix libusb search
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 21 Feb 2012 13:48:06 +0000 (14:48 +0100)]
cmake: fix libusb search

Adjust cmake test for libusb library so that the compatible libusb for
freebsd can be found. Since freebsd's libusb header are located in
a different place from libusb-1.0, the includes in the source code must
be adjusted using #include <libusb.h>. Actually those new include
statements are those that libusb-1.0 really expects to be used (see
libusb-1.0.pc cflags to verify this).

Taken from libfreenect commit 8219750df3a13501626a7f7f54d24afb8e64ec3f
https://github.com/OpenKinect/libfreenect/commit/8219750df3a13501626a7f7f54d24afb8e64ec3f

9 years agoam7xxx: change am7xx_device definition, better buffer handling
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 21 Feb 2012 12:19:28 +0000 (13:19 +0100)]
am7xxx: change am7xx_device definition, better buffer handling

Add a new data type for am7xxx devices and make it hold a buffer, this
way allocating a new buffer for each communication can be avoided; also
move this definition to am7xxx.c to avoid exposing details about libusb
in am7xxx.h.

9 years agoam7xxx: initialize the 'transferred' variable before USB transfers
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 14:26:44 +0000 (15:26 +0100)]
am7xxx: initialize the 'transferred' variable before USB transfers

This makes sure the subsequent error messages print a sane value when
libusb fails without touching the variable.

9 years agoREADME.asciidoc: Acer C120 is not based on AM7XXX
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 21 Feb 2012 18:55:24 +0000 (19:55 +0100)]
README.asciidoc: Acer C120 is not based on AM7XXX

Dhanraj Rajput has one of these and he figured out that the
communication here is based on the SCSI Pass-Trough protocol, not on
plain USB bulk transfers.

9 years agoREADME.asciidoc: rephrase the part about USB IDs
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 20 Feb 2012 20:31:36 +0000 (21:31 +0100)]
README.asciidoc: rephrase the part about USB IDs

Those devices does not always use the Actions Micro Vendor ID in display
mode, some Philips ones don't for instance, so tell that the IDs
mentioned are just examples.

Also mention that usb-modeswitch perform the mode change automatically
now.

9 years agoREADME.asciidoc: fix a typo s/trasfers/transfers/
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 20 Feb 2012 16:51:11 +0000 (17:51 +0100)]
README.asciidoc: fix a typo s/trasfers/transfers/

9 years agoREADME.asciidoc: mention Thomas Baquet's project and fix some style
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 20 Feb 2012 16:50:06 +0000 (17:50 +0100)]
README.asciidoc: mention Thomas Baquet's project and fix some style

9 years agocontrib: add some udev rules to let normal users access the devices
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 20 Feb 2012 12:44:23 +0000 (13:44 +0100)]
contrib: add some udev rules to let normal users access the devices

Make any user in the "plugdev" group be able to use an am7xxx device,
not just the root user like it is now.

9 years agoREADME.asciidoc: highlight USB IDs by using an unformatted style
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 20 Feb 2012 12:28:29 +0000 (13:28 +0100)]
README.asciidoc: highlight USB IDs by using an unformatted style

9 years agoDon't use fixed size integer types in the public header
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 14:50:41 +0000 (15:50 +0100)]
Don't use fixed size integer types in the public header

The rationale behind this is that a user of the library is interested in
the meaning of the data passed, not on its storage size.

9 years agoMake struct am7xxx_header and related types private
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 14:44:24 +0000 (15:44 +0100)]
Make struct am7xxx_header and related types private

There is not need for struct am7xxx_header, am7xxx_packet_type, and the
other headers structs to be in the public am7xxx.h file.

9 years agoImplement am7xxx_get_device_info()
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 14:26:44 +0000 (15:26 +0100)]
Implement am7xxx_get_device_info()

Add support for packet type 0x01, which can be used to query device
information like the native width and native height.

Introduce also read_data(), read_header(), unserialize_header()
which are needed by am7xxx_get_device_info()

9 years agoAdd info about transfer direction in debug messages, add newline
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 11:24:53 +0000 (12:24 +0100)]
Add info about transfer direction in debug messages, add newline

9 years agopicoproj: make the -f option mandatory
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 16:15:50 +0000 (17:15 +0100)]
picoproj: make the -f option mandatory

Passing an image file name is now mandatory, before that the user could
be induced into thinking that a command like the following was sending
an image:

 ./picoproj -W 800 -H 480 -F 1 some_image.jpg

while the actually intended command line was:

  ./picoproj -W 800 -H 480 -F 1 -f some_image.jpg
                                ^^
Note the missing -f in the first command line.

9 years agoImplement am7xxx_set_power_mode()
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 15:43:23 +0000 (16:43 +0100)]
Implement am7xxx_set_power_mode()

The AM7XXX_PACKET_TYPE_POWER expects the power mode to be specified in
the header_data section of the header like a value between 0 and 4, but
with one bit per field, each field being a little-endian 32 bit integer.

9 years agoIndent header_data fields when dumping headers
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 15:03:33 +0000 (16:03 +0100)]
Indent header_data fields when dumping headers

9 years agoDocument in_80chars() and remove reference_image_header[]
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 14:45:00 +0000 (15:45 +0100)]
Document in_80chars() and remove reference_image_header[]

9 years agoDump the data only in DEBUG builds
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 14:39:24 +0000 (15:39 +0100)]
Dump the data only in DEBUG builds

Also use -Werror only in DEBUG builds, otherwise normal builds fail with:

src/am7xxx.c:42:13: error: ‘dump_header’ defined but not used [-Werror=unused-function]
src/am7xxx.c:73:13: error: ‘dump_buffer’ defined but not used [-Werror=unused-function]

9 years agoAdd a HACKING.asciidoc file
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 13:55:54 +0000 (14:55 +0100)]
Add a HACKING.asciidoc file

Give some info about how to make a debug build and mention the coding
style used in the project, so new contributors know how to behave.

9 years agoSerialize struct am7xxx_header properly before sending it on the wire
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 12:38:35 +0000 (13:38 +0100)]
Serialize struct am7xxx_header properly before sending it on the wire

That is in order to:

  1. keep data in the structs always in the host native byte order, this
     is more natural and less error prone as we might forget to use
     htole32() when setting struct fields or le32toh() when accessing
     them;

  2. be more portable: this way the buffer sent to the wire is
     independent of struct alignments or paddings introduced by
     compilers or required by a particular architecture.

9 years agopicoproj: exit with success when the -h option is used
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 09:41:47 +0000 (10:41 +0100)]
picoproj: exit with success when the -h option is used

9 years agoDocument usb_modeswitch command to change the device mode
Antonio Ospite [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 09:27:25 +0000 (10:27 +0100)]
Document usb_modeswitch command to change the device mode

9 years agoRenamed AM7XXX_IMAGE_FORMAT_YUV_NV12 to AM7XXX_IMAGE_FORMAT_NV12.
Reto Schneider [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 16:13:15 +0000 (17:13 +0100)]
Renamed AM7XXX_IMAGE_FORMAT_YUV_NV12 to AM7XXX_IMAGE_FORMAT_NV12.

9 years agoAdded support for imageformat YUV - NV12
Reto Schneider [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 15:22:04 +0000 (16:22 +0100)]
Added support for imageformat YUV - NV12

9 years agoStop build process if a warning shows up
Reto Schneider [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 15:15:50 +0000 (16:15 +0100)]
Stop build process if a warning shows up

9 years agocorrected some spelling mistakes
Reto Schneider [Sun, 15 Jan 2012 23:03:42 +0000 (00:03 +0100)]
corrected some spelling mistakes

9 years agoRelicense under GPLv2+
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 15 Jan 2012 21:58:15 +0000 (22:58 +0100)]
Relicense under GPLv2+

This could make sharing code with a linux kernel driver easier.

9 years agoAdd a TODO file
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 15 Jan 2012 20:12:14 +0000 (21:12 +0100)]
Add a TODO file

9 years agoAdd a README.asciidoc
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 15 Jan 2012 20:11:58 +0000 (21:11 +0100)]
Add a README.asciidoc

9 years agoFix Copyright year
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 15 Jan 2012 00:40:19 +0000 (01:40 +0100)]
Fix Copyright year

9 years agoAdd GPL-3 license text
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 15 Jan 2012 00:39:15 +0000 (01:39 +0100)]
Add GPL-3 license text

9 years agoRename the header_len field to header_data_len
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 13 Jan 2012 12:43:59 +0000 (13:43 +0100)]
Rename the header_len field to header_data_len

This matches better match its meaning, it is not the length of the whole
header, but only of the header_data section.

9 years agoMake including am7xxx.h in C++ code safe
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 13 Jan 2012 12:37:32 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
Make including am7xxx.h in C++ code safe

9 years agoUse Cmake and make libam7xxx a shared library
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 13 Jan 2012 02:20:14 +0000 (03:20 +0100)]
Use Cmake and make libam7xxx a shared library

Also move the source code to a src/ subdirectory in order to avoid
cluttering the project root dir.

9 years agoSplit am7xxx functions and definitions
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 12:46:14 +0000 (13:46 +0100)]
Split am7xxx functions and definitions

This is the base for the libam7xxx shared library.

9 years agoAdd backup and changelog rules to Makefile
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 02:16:17 +0000 (03:16 +0100)]
Add backup and changelog rules to Makefile

9 years agoAdd initial support for USB output communication
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 01:53:08 +0000 (02:53 +0100)]
Add initial support for USB output communication

9 years agoAdd support for sending an actual JPEG image
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 00:46:38 +0000 (01:46 +0100)]
Add support for sending an actual JPEG image

9 years agoImage size is always unsigned
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 00:45:20 +0000 (01:45 +0100)]
Image size is always unsigned

9 years agoWrap lines when dumping big buffers
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 00:44:01 +0000 (01:44 +0100)]
Wrap lines when dumping big buffers

9 years agoAdd some command line options
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 23:03:55 +0000 (00:03 +0100)]
Add some command line options

This will make it easier to experiment with different image size and
format.

9 years agoMinor Makefile cleanup
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 23:03:16 +0000 (00:03 +0100)]
Minor Makefile cleanup

9 years agoRewrite to support different packet types
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 21:51:02 +0000 (22:51 +0100)]
Rewrite to support different packet types

9 years agoFix a typo
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 00:58:10 +0000 (01:58 +0100)]
Fix a typo

9 years agoInitial import
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 17:16:37 +0000 (18:16 +0100)]
Initial import