kinect-audio-setup.git
9 years agoAdd ChangeLog for v0.1 v0.1
Antonio Ospite [Wed, 12 Oct 2011 10:13:34 +0000 (12:13 +0200)]
Add ChangeLog for v0.1

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix a couple of minor warnings from 'sparse'
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 6 Oct 2011 12:49:01 +0000 (14:49 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix a couple of minor warnings from 'sparse'

Sparse is a Semantic Parser for C, it gives these warnings on
kinect_upload_fw.c:

kinect_upload_fw.c:42:14: warning: symbol 'seq' was not declared. Should it be static?
kinect_upload_fw.c:149:26: warning: Using plain integer as NULL pointer

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: support architectures that are not little-endian
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 14:22:36 +0000 (16:22 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: support architectures that are not little-endian

Add an endian.c program which will be used at compile time to generate
an endian.h file with the information about the endianness of the
architecture. This way we do not depend on any particular build system
to retrieve this information (libfreenect knows the endianness with the
help of Cmake, for instance).

This is inspired from the rdesktop project[1] and looks more portable
than relying on the system endian.h as its use is relatively new and not
standardized yet, even though there are proposals in that direction[2].

Finally fn_le32() implementation is ripped off from libfreenect.

[1] http://www.rdesktop.org/archive/2001/msg00722.html
[2] http://austingroupbugs.net/view.php?id=162

9 years agokinect_fetch_fw: add a mechanism to check the integrity of the downloaded file
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 13:55:28 +0000 (15:55 +0200)]
kinect_fetch_fw: add a mechanism to check the integrity of the downloaded file

9 years agokinect_fetch_fw: print error messages on stderr
Antonio Ospite [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 13:47:53 +0000 (15:47 +0200)]
kinect_fetch_fw: print error messages on stderr

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: really fix -Wformat warnings about sizeof()
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 21:00:42 +0000 (23:00 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: really fix -Wformat warnings about sizeof()

Use "%zu" when printing the result of a sizeof(), this way the integer
conversion is done correctly taking into account the particular
architecture.

On a PPC64 (PlayStation 3) we were getting:

kinect_upload_fw.c: In function ‘get_reply’:
kinect_upload_fw.c:99:3: warning: format ‘%lu’ expects argument of type ‘long unsigned int’, but argument 4 has type ‘unsigned int’ [-Wformat]
kinect_upload_fw.c: In function ‘main’:
kinect_upload_fw.c:169:3: warning: format ‘%lu’ expects argument of type ‘long unsigned int’, but argument 4 has type ‘unsigned int’ [-Wformat]
kinect_upload_fw.c:194:4: warning: format ‘%lu’ expects argument of type ‘long unsigned int’, but argument 4 has type ‘unsigned int’ [-Wformat]
kinect_upload_fw.c:220:3: warning: format ‘%lu’ expects argument of type ‘long unsigned int’, but argument 4 has type ‘unsigned int’ [-Wformat]

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix issues shown by valgrind --leak-check=full --show-reachable=yes
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 11:59:17 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix issues shown by valgrind --leak-check=full --show-reachable=yes

Fix a "possibly lost" issue due to a missing call to libusb_exit() when
exiting after libusb_open_device_with_vid_pid() fails.

Fix a "still reachable" issue due to a missing fclose().

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: cosmetic changes
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 11:43:52 +0000 (13:43 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: cosmetic changes

  - Spaces after contitionals
  - Spaces after commas
  - Some newlines to increase readability
  - Print a error message to stderr

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: print more meaningful error message on failure
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 11:38:42 +0000 (13:38 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: print more meaningful error message on failure

9 years agokinect_fetch_fw: return value from $() does not need to be quoted
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 11:26:48 +0000 (13:26 +0200)]
kinect_fetch_fw: return value from $() does not need to be quoted

9 years agokinect_fetch_fw: make FW_DESTDIR an absolute path
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 11:21:06 +0000 (13:21 +0200)]
kinect_fetch_fw: make FW_DESTDIR an absolute path

This allows passing relative paths as arguments and be sure they don't
end up being relative to the temporary directory.

Also remove the slash after DESTDIR to avoid double slash.

9 years agoChange description of kinect_fetch_fw
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 10:54:46 +0000 (12:54 +0200)]
Change description of kinect_fetch_fw

9 years agoAdd more info in the README file
Antonio Ospite [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 09:31:01 +0000 (11:31 +0200)]
Add more info in the README file

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix a -Wstrict-aliasing warning
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 21:20:26 +0000 (23:20 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix a -Wstrict-aliasing warning

kinect_upload_fw.c:87:2: warning: dereferencing type-punned pointer will break strict-aliasing rules [-Wstrict-aliasing]

Use a union when there is the need to use the same memory for variables
of incompatible types (especially if they have different storage size).

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix assigning a string literal to a 'char *'
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 21:13:09 +0000 (23:13 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix assigning a string literal to a 'char *'

kinect_upload_fw.c:118:19: error: initialization discards ‘const’ qualifier from pointer target type

A string literals can be seen as "const char *" or as array of chars,
I like the second interpretation better.

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix -Wsign-compare and -Wpointer-sign
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 21:11:21 +0000 (23:11 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix -Wsign-compare and -Wpointer-sign

kinect_upload_fw.c:99:25: warning: comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions [-Wsign-compare]
kinect_upload_fw.c:188:4: error: pointer targets in passing argument 3 of ‘libusb_bulk_transfer’ differ in signedness [-Wpointer-sign]

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix -Wformat warnings
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 21:09:48 +0000 (23:09 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix -Wformat warnings

kinect_upload_fw.c:92:3: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 4 has type ‘long unsigned int’ [-Wformat]
kinect_upload_fw.c:157:3: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 4 has type ‘long unsigned int’ [-Wformat]
kinect_upload_fw.c:182:4: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 4 has type ‘long unsigned int’ [-Wformat]
kinect_upload_fw.c:208:3: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 4 has type ‘long unsigned int’ [-Wformat]

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix -Wmissing-prototypes warning
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 21:05:58 +0000 (23:05 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix -Wmissing-prototypes warning

kinect_upload_fw.c:60:6: warning: no previous prototype for ‘dump_bl_cmd’ [-Wmissing-prototypes]
kinect_upload_fw.c:67:5: warning: no previous prototype for ‘get_first_reply’ [-Wmissing-prototypes]
kinect_upload_fw.c:86:5: warning: no previous prototype for ‘get_reply’ [-Wmissing-prototypes]

GCC emits "missing-prototypes" argument for _public_ functions without a
prototype, making them static is the right fix here.

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix -Wold-style-definition warnings
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 21:04:24 +0000 (23:04 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix -Wold-style-definition warnings

kinect_upload_fw.c:67:5: warning: old-style function definition [-Wold-style-definition]
kinect_upload_fw.c:86:5: warning: old-style function definition [-Wold-style-definition]

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: fix spacing in Makefile, use simple expansion to set bindir
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 20:06:26 +0000 (22:06 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: fix spacing in Makefile, use simple expansion to set bindir

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: enable more warnings in Makefile
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 20:05:35 +0000 (22:05 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: enable more warnings in Makefile

9 years agokinect_upload_fw: remove some trailing spaces
Antonio Ospite [Sat, 17 Sep 2011 19:46:55 +0000 (21:46 +0200)]
kinect_upload_fw: remove some trailing spaces

9 years agoMakefile: Add a rule to generate a GNU style Changelog
Antonio Ospite [Thu, 29 Sep 2011 16:19:23 +0000 (18:19 +0200)]
Makefile: Add a rule to generate a GNU style Changelog

Lintian, the Debian package checker issues a warning when the upstream
does not provide a Changelog, now we can easily generate one for tagged
release using "make changelog".

9 years agoAdd a .gitignore file
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 11 Sep 2011 22:49:16 +0000 (00:49 +0200)]
Add a .gitignore file

9 years agoInitial import of the other pieces of knect_audio_setup
Antonio Ospite [Sun, 11 Sep 2011 18:42:39 +0000 (20:42 +0200)]
Initial import of the other pieces of knect_audio_setup

9 years agoInitial import of kinect_upload_fw
Drew Fisher [Sun, 11 Sep 2011 18:35:19 +0000 (20:35 +0200)]
Initial import of kinect_upload_fw

kinect_upload_fw is a program to upload the Usb Audio Class firmware to
the Microsoft Kinect sensor device. Before the firmware is uploaded the
device shows up as a generic usb device with a bulk endpoint, after the
firmware upload a reenumeration takes place and a Usb Audio Class device
becomes available.